Comparative Studies: How Judgemental Can You Get?

Posted: February 21, 2010 in Society, Thoughts
Tags: ,

Read people’s reactions on an article that touched certain aspects of a religion and its progression while comparing it with some other religion. I won’t comment on any of the points that were written in the article or in responses as they were view-points of those individuals. In fact there were certain things that I could see in newer light. But the texture of the article and those reactions disturbed me. I didn’t realize it then as my thoughts were more concentrated on the newer aspect that I got hold of through those responses about this religion. Today morning I could find what bothered me.

Let’s view a picture.

In my family my mother accepts me as I am with no suggestions to change. My brother accepts me but tells me the way he prefers certain things about me to be. My sister can’t stand many of my things, keeps shouting at me and declares me a hopeless case. But when an outsider tries to offend me they all come together to defend me.

There are certain characteristics that define our family and we are at ease with it. Now my brother gets married and my sister-in-law comes. There are certain things that she finds common to what she has seen in her earlier years and many others that she sees as new yet acceptable. But there are things that she can’t identify with at all. What can she do in this case? Criticize us or try changing us or accept us as we are and continue being what she is. For things that she consider as follies she can share her views, make us consider it for amendments giving us time and space to change or she can simply condemn us for that and alienate herself from us. In later case we too in return find her imperfections and try to prove ourselves superior. End result is alienation and negativity.

There’s nothing or no one that is liked by all. There’s nothing or no one that is perfect. Criticize it or accept it or try to mould it your way is a matter of choice. In different circumstances and for different things we exercise one of these choices depending on our preferences and perception and our current state of mind or well-being. Cynicism too is one of the many human reactions that comes forth at times but when it becomes a defining trait for somebody vis-à-vis something or someone, prejudices creep in and many times takes such dimensions that it engulfs the goodness of the one nurturing it. Even on usual scale if cynicism is a persistent trait it can only touch people involved with negativity. Never being cynical can be a goal which one can work towards but it doesn’t seem humanly possible. Still like getting angry once in a while is understandable if you learn to guard it, cynicism too must be set in boundaries.

Comparative studies of cultures, religion, societies and for that matter even individuals is my favourite subject but if I loose objectivity while studying and analysing it and get judgemental my purpose will be defeated. I want to study it to develop my understanding of their differences and grow acceptability for these differences and not to alienate any of them or feel superior in any of the aspects. To put forth certain weaknesses(in my perception), first I must learn to be compassionate and put it forward in constructive way, giving them time and space to understand my view-point and change if acceptable while understanding their resistance towards that change.

Comments
  1. Aakash gaur says:

    Fantastic vocabulary being used for fantastic opinion for the fact of every one’s life.

Leave a Reply

